Category Archives: Databases

Thinking about African American History Month: Making It Every Month

Image from the Library of Congress' African American History Month page

Established in 1976 (as an expansion of Negro History Week, first established by Carter G. Woodson in 1925), African-American History Month has been observed for almost forty years. African-American history is, profoundly, American history: early colonial and Revolutionary-era history is … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, Primary Resources | Leave a comment

New Database: DARE–Dictionary of American Regional English

DARE

The Georgia State University Library is pleased to announce the addition of the online version of DARE: Dictionary of American Regional English to our collections. Each DARE entry defines a regional word or phrase, provides pronunciation and etymology, identifies the … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Databases, English, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, General News, New Resources | Leave a comment

New Database: PsycTESTS

psyctests2

GSU Library is happy to report that we now have a subscription to a database indispensable to many disciplines including psychology, education, business, nursing, and many others: PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, General News | 1 Comment

New! Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

avery

The Library is pleased to announce the recent addition of the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. This research database provides access to articles on architecture, urban planning, interior design, historic preservation, and more! The Avery Index covers  periodicals in these subject areas … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Art & Design, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, History | Leave a comment

Undergrad Social Sciences Researchers – Apply for an ICPSR Undergraduate Internship!

ICPSR logo

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) Summer Undergraduate Internship program students, under the supervision of faculty mentors, develop a social-sciences research question, perform a literature search and review, complete data analysis, and report findings in a poster; learn … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Students | 1 Comment

Lecture: Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, “An Indigenous Peoples’ History of the United States”

cover, Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States

On Wednesday, October 22, historian and activist Dr. Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz will give a lecture on “An Indigenous Peoples’ History of the United States.” Co-sponsored by SPEAK, BlackOUT, Faces of Feminism, GSU’s Special Collections and Archives, the Institute for Women’s, Gender, … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History, New Resources, Primary Resources, Women's Studies | Tagged , , | Comments Off

CENCIA, School of Music Host “Viktor Ullmann’s Legacy from Theresienstadt” Concert

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 9.13.23 AM

On Thursday, October 16, Georgia State’s School of Music, in collaboration with Elysium Between Two Continents and CENCIA will present a concert featuring the works of composer Viktor Ullmann. Ullmann was an accomplished musician and composer who lived in various parts … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, General News, History, Music | Comments Off

First Year Book: March Book One

The First-Year Book program at Georgia State University provides all incoming freshmen with a common intellectual experience to stimulate discussion, to promote critical thinking, and to develop a sense of community among first-year students, faculty, and staff. This year’s selection, the … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Students, Primary Resources | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Ferguson, Missouri: Difficult Stories

map of Ferguson, Missouri in relation to St. Louis City

On Saturday, August 9, a Ferguson, Missouri police officer shot and killed Michael Brown, age 18, a graduate of Normandy High School who was about to begin classes at Vatterott College on Monday, August 11. Details remain murky but there … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (12 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in African American Studies, Books, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, History | 1 Comment

New Database: JoVE Neuroscience

The Georgia State University Library now has access to JoVE Neuroscience. JoVE Neuroscience is a multidisciplinary section of the Journal of Visualized Experiments: a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research … Continue reading

Share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...Loading...
Posted in Biology, Databases, For Faculty, For Graduate Students, For Students, General News, Neuroscience, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Comments Off